2020 Program

rounded corner
meeting place graphic element

Two days of diverse, curated experiences centred around the theme 'Creating Space'.

In 2020, the Meeting Place program was delivered entirely online for the first time. The program includes a diverse mix of speakers, panel discussions, artistic showcases and interactive sessions, and was available live and now on-demand, where content allows.

This year the program is curated around the theme ‘Creating Space’ for d/Deaf and disabled artists, whether that be space in community, online, politically or otherwise.

If you are a ticket-holder, you can access the on-demand program here. If you haven’t received the password or have lost the password to access the on-demand program, please email info@artsaccessaustralia.org.


Tuesday 15 September

Official welcome

Time: 10.15am AEST / 9.45am ACST / 8.15am AWST

Meeting Place 2020 begins with an Acknowledgement of Country by Mel Weir of Wingecarribee Shire Council.

This will be followed by an official welcome by Arts Access Australia Chair Belinda Locke.

Duration: 15 minutes

Panel discussion: Creating space for our community at a state and national level

Time: 10.30am AEST / 10am ACST / 8.30am AWST

Hear from the leaders of each of the state arts and access organisations in this discussion around creating space for artists, arts organisations and arts audiences at a state and national level.

Panellists include:

Hosted by Arts Access Australia CEO Matthew Hall.

Duration: 60 minutes

National Portrait Gallery virtual tour: Invisible disability; creating space in portraiture

Time: 12.30pm AEST / 12pm ACST / 10.30am AWST

This session is not available on-demand due to copyright restrictions.

Portraiture can be much more than representational, portraiture can draw us into another person’s world. With a focus on invisible disability, portraits ranging from a musician to a surfer conjure the shared and individual experience of being seen and unseen.

Hosted by Lucie Shawcross and presented by the National Portrait Gallery.

Find out more about the virtual tour.

This session is also open to the general public.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this session may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

Duration: 30 minutes

In conversation: Creating space for inclusive festivals

Time: 2.15pm AEST / 1.45pm ACST / 12.15pm AWST

This conversation features Audrey Perera – True Colors Festival 2020, The Nippon Foundation (Asia-Pacific); Jenine Mackay  – Unbroken Land 2020, Incite Arts (NT); and Bree Hadley  – Undercover Artist Festival 2020, Access Arts (QLD). Hosted by Canberra-based artist and Platform Live Co-Curator Daniel Savage.

Duration: 45 minutes

Keynote address: Start with a story, choose a space in which to tell that story

Time: 4.30pm AEST / 4pm ACST / 2.30pm AWST

UK-based experimental media artist Jane Gauntlett delivers the keynote address for Meeting Place 2020.

Duration: 45 minutes

Screenability Film Night

Time: 7.30pm AEST / 7pm ACST / 5.30pm AWST

This session is not available on-demand due to copyright restrictions

Relax at home with a bowl of popcorn (or whatever your snack of choice!) as Screenability presents a selection of short films. Introduced by Progammer Sofya Gollan.

Film 1: Diving In, Produced by Jessica Murphy

Set in 2007, a young amputee swimmer Alex has his heart set on one of the coaches at the local pool. After accidentally rejecting her, Alex’s friends steal his phone and send her a raunchy text message. Mortified, Alex must get to her phone before she sees the message, or risk losing her forever.

Film 2: Groundhog Night, Co-produced by Tracey Corbin-Matchett and Dianna La Grassa

Gary’s so used to caring for his disabled daughter Jess, he can do it in his sleep. But when the in-laws come to stay, everyone will get a wake-up call.

Film 3: Saftey Net, Produced by Naomi Just

Thirteen-year-oldTerry is in emergency care with guardians after his mother’s arrest.  and living with a disability, he outwits one guardian while finding exactly the connection he needs from the other

Duration: 45 minutes

Wednesday 16 September

Panel discussion: Creating space in a "new" world

Time: 10.15am AEST / 9.45am ACST / 8.15am AWST

This panel discussion features US-based performance artist and academic, Petra Kuppers; Tasmanian designer Duncan Meerding; and Melbourne artist Prue Stevenson. Hosted by Sydney-based theatre and film practioner Emily Dash.

Duration: 60 minutes

Thigh to eye: A conversation from a different perspective

Time: 12.30pm AEST / 12pm ACST / 10.30am AWST

An artist and an arts manager invite you to Zoom with them. What happens next?

A time for Meeting Place attendees and delegates to take control, to turn the tables and to be given the space to control, ‘what happens next’. Artist Bruno Booth and Jeremy Smith await your provocations and questions to inform this hour of disabled power (and fun).

Find out more about Thigh to eye.

Duration: 45 mins

Creating space in the political world for arts and disability

Time: 2.15pm AEST / 1.45pm ACST / 12.15pm AWST

AAA CEO Matthew Hall hosts Bill Shorten MP of the Australian Labor Party (Shadow Minister for the NDIS; and Shadow Minister for Government Services).

Please note: Senator Jordon Steele-John of the Australian Greens (Senator for WA; Spokesperson for Disability Rights and Service) was due to appear but was called away at the last minute due to a personal emergency.

Duration: 45 mins

Finding Belonging Through Making Artbooks

Time: 4.30pm AEST / 4pm ACST / 2.30pm AWST

This session invites you to see how QLD artist Debbie Chilton has used the Art of Artbooks to create a space of belonging. During the session you will have a chance to discover how to record your own journey through an artbook.

Please note: We recommend having good quality paper, watercolour paints, pens and pencils at hand to make the most out of this session. If you don’t own watercolour paints, black tea or coffee reacts in the same way as watercolour paint.

Find out more about Making Artbooks

Duration: 30 minutes

Closing speech

Time: 7.30pm AEST / 7pm ACST / 5.30pm AWST

A short speech from Arts Access Australia’s CEO Matthew Hall, as he considers the main takeaways from Meeting Place 2020.

Duration: 10-30 minutes

CANCELLED - Isostylin' - Create ya rave space! 

Please note that due to a medical emergency, this session has been cancelled. We hope to reschedule this session in the future.

It’s the Meeting Space 2020 Dance Off from the comfort of your own loungeroom!

Led by Dancer, Arts facilitator & Carer Katie Cooper-Wares (the contagious joy effect) and co-facilitators – Sprung!! Senior Dancers (and independent artists) Max Mcauley and Tallula Bourne, this interactive dance party requires no previous dance experience, and is the perfect way to finish Meeting Place.

Find out more about Isostylin’

Duration: 45 minutes

 

rounded corner graphic

Register your interest

Register to receive news and updates about Meeting Place

Host

Presenting Partner