Invisible disability; creating space in portraiture

rounded corner
meeting place graphic element

The National Portrait Gallery presents a live video tour collection focus.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that this session may contain images, voices or names of deceased persons in photographs, film, audio recordings or printed material.

Join presenter Lucie Shawcross at the National Portrait Gallery for a live and interactive video tour through the collection of Layne Benchley, Jim Conway and Gurrumul Yunupingu. Their portraits evoke both the visible and the invisible. Through the portraits and life experience of both subjects and artists in the collection, this tour will consider what is ‘invisible disability’.

“Portraiture can be much more than representational; portraiture can draw us into another person’s world.  With a focus on invisible disability, portraits ranging from a musician to a surfer conjure the shared and individual experience of being seen and unseen.”

Day 1: Tuesday 15 September

Time: 12.30pm AEST / 12pm ACST / 10.30am AWST

Duration: 30 minutes

Access: Live captioned; Auslan-interpreted; audio description included by presenter

 

 

Back to program

meeting place graphic element
rounded corner graphic

Subscribe to Newsletter

Sign up to receive news and updates about Meeting Place

Host

Supporting Partner