Program: Day 2

rounded corner
meeting place graphic element

Friday, 7 October 2022

Day 2 begins at 9.30am AEDT (Melbourne time) and finishes at 4 pm AEDT (Melbourne time).

View the Program for Day 1

View the Program for Day 3

View the On-Demand Program

All events will be Auslan-interpreted, audiodescribed and live captioned.

meeting place graphic element

Friday 7 October

Morning Greetings

Location: Online

Time: 9:30am AEDT / 9am ACDT / 6:30am AWST

A daily opportunity to gather over virtual breakfast. Grab yourself a cuppa and meet your fellow forum mates.

Duration: 45 minutes

Flaunt - in partnership with The Other Film Festival

Location: The Wheeler Centre & Online

Time: 10.30am AEDT / 10am ACDT / 7:30am AWST

Once we were Freak Shows, now we are still the subject of the public gaze. Whether you look different, move differently, think differently, communicate differently, or experience differently, you attract attention. What if you want attention? What if, as Stella Young once said, if they’re going to study me anyway, why not give them a show?

Flaunt is about ‘courage, commitment and the desire to be understood’ says Kath Duncan, Flaunt Guest Curator for The Other Film Festival and panel MC. These guests all have different creative responses to enhancing the Flaunt power of disability cinema and performance.

Duration: 45 minutes

Accessibility as Artform

Location: The Wheeler Centre & Online

Time: 11:30am AEDT / 11am ACDT / 8:30am AWST

Artists Fayen D’Evie and Andi Snelling discuss two of their most recent projects – Care is Cognate to Grief and Accidental Radical – both of which embed what are usually considered optional accessibility measures as core to the creation of their works. Despite practicing different artforms, by centring access both open new frontiers for their work.

Duration: 45 minutes

Lunch performance: Robert Champion

Location: The Wheeler Centre & Online

Time: 12:30pm AEDT / 12pm ACDT / 9:30am AWST

Robert K Champion moves audiences with his haunting guitar music and compelling stories of life, love and loss.

A Gubrun, Kokatha and Mirning man now living and making music in Melbourne, Robert performs original compositions, a combination of country ballads and melodic songs.

Duration: 45 minutes

Remixing images and words

Location: The Wheeler Centre & Online

Time: 1.30pm AEDT / 1pm ACDT / 10:30am AWST

Collage is an old practice finding new popularity. Using images, words or both, explore ways to remix existing works to create something fresh.

Participants joining from home will need scissors, glue and some paper media to cut up such as magazines, newspapers and/or coloured paper.

Duration: 60 minutes

Loud and Proud

Location: CheckPoint @ Arts Centre Melbourne & Online

Time: 3:15pm AEDT / 2:45pm ACDT / 12:15pm AWST

Readings from some of the Writing Place and Writeability artists. Writers with disabilities coming to you loud and proud.

Please note this event takes place at CheckPoint on the forecourt of Arts Centre Melbourne and is also available online via livestream.

Duration: 45 minutes

Alter State: Artemis Muñoz, Andrzej Zelazny and Stefano Conti

Location: CheckPoint @ Arts Centre Melbourne

Time: 4:30pm AEDT

Artemis: Utter Mess – A show about labels and the difference between the words that confine us and the words that set us free.

Also featuring performances by poet Stefano Conti and mime artist Andrzej Zelazny.

Duration: 90 minutes

Presented in partnership with Arts Centre Melbourne and Arts Access Victoria as part of Alter State.

Informal drinks

Location: The Barre, Arts Centre Melbourne

6pm AEDT

We welcome you to gather at The Barre for informal drinks with your fellow Meeting Place / Alter State participants.

Please note: this is not an official Meeting Place event and it is up to individual participants to arrange their own access requirements.

rounded corner graphic

Register your interest

Register to receive news and updates about Meeting Place

Host

Presenting Partners

Funding Partner