Program: Day 1

rounded corner
meeting place graphic element

Thursday, 6 October 2022

Day 1 begins at 9.30am AEDT (Melbourne time) and finishes at 5.30 pm AEDT (Melbourne time).

View the Program for Day 2

View the Program for Day 3

View the On-Demand Program

All events will be Auslan-interpreted, audiodescribed and live captioned.

meeting place graphic element

Thursday 6 October

Morning Greetings

Location: Online

Time: 9:30am AEDT / 8:30am ACDT / 6am AWST

A daily opportunity to gather over virtual breakfast. Grab yourself a cuppa and meet your fellow forum mates.

Duration: 60 minutes

Opening Session

Location: The Wheeler Centre & Online

Time: 11am AEDT / 10:30am ACDT / 8am AWST

Elders of the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung people will deliver the Welcome to Country.

Official welcome by Arts Access Australia Chair Martin Sawtell and Art Access Australia CEO Matthew Hall.

Keynote speech delivered by Caro Llewellyn, CEO of the Wheeler Centre.

Duration: 60 minutes

Break / Disability pride badge making

Location: The Wheeler Centre

Time: 12pm AEST / 11:30 ACDT / 9am AWST

Artist Larissa MacFarlane is bringing disability pride to Meeting Place 2022! Drop past her badge-making station to create your own unique disability pride-themed badge.

Online participants will be given the opportunity to make badge requests, which will then be sent to you as a post-event souvenir.

Duration: 30 minutes

CLOSED EVENT: Seeding for Tomorrow: Yirramboi Yarning Circle

Location: By invitation only

Time: 12:30pm AEDT / 12pm ACDT / 9:30am AWST

First Nations gathering, sharing space and experience related to culture.

An invitation for disabled, First Nations artists to gather, acknowledge, yarn and connect in a cultural space, held by independent artist and Alter State Foundation artist Joshua Pether.

Sharing food and experience that relates to culture, the yarning circle will seed ideas…. for tomorrow, as part of YIRRAMBOI’s Interweave program.

Interweave is the coming together of established First Nations-led programs, collectives and YIRRAMBOI Festival.

It spotlights and platforms First Nations works that aligns to YIRRAMBOI’s purpose, a collective voice, for the strength in YIRRAMBOI Festival’s provocation ‘TOMORROW’.

We are excited for the Interweave and Alter State 2022 connection, that speaks to intersectionality and opens new possibilities for disabled First Nations artists and audiences.

Invitation only gathering.

About YIRRAMBOI Festival

In the local languages of the Boonwurrung and Woiwurrung peoples, YIRRAMBOI means TOMMORROW. YIRRAMBOI festival platforms the interconnectedness and diversity of First Nations creatives, locally, nationally and internationally.

A 10 day feast of mediums spanning the breadth of artistic expressions with a collective voice of resilience and evolutionary practices. Emerging, mid-career and established First Nations creatives taking back space to crack open the heart of Melbourne, revealing the hum of country beneath. Will you hear it?

Returning for its 4th Iteration from the 4 – 14 May 2023, YIRRAMBOI will again invite audiences to immerse themselves in our stories, our truth, our way.

Presented by Arts Access Australia in conjunction with Arts Centre Melbourne

Duration: 90 minutes

So What Do You Do?

Location: The Wheeler Centre & Online

Time: 12:30pm AEDT / 12pm ACDT / 9:30am AWST

Do you dread trying to find the words to express your artistic practice? In this workshop experienced public speaker and writer Maribel Steel will help you find the right language to capture the heart of your work and create a unique artist statement, elevator pitch or summary of what you do.

Duration: 45 minutes

Disabled Leadership in the Arts

Location: The Wheeler Centre & Online

Time: 1:30pm AEDT / 1pm ACDT / 10:30am AWST

Are artists with disabilities recognised as leaders within our fields? Hear about some of the existing opportunities to develop leadership skills, and how artists can equip themselves to become leaders in their fields. How can we build a strong sector with opportunities for artists to build skills as leaders?

Duration: 45 minutes

Break / Disability pride badge making

Location: The Wheeler Centre

Time: 2:30pm AEDT / 2pm ACDT / 11:30am AWST

Artist Larissa MacFarlane is bringing disability pride to Meeting Place 2022! Drop past her badge-making station to create your own unique disability pride-themed badge.

Online participants will be given the opportunity to make badge requests, which will then be sent to you as a post-event souvenir.

Duration: 30 minutes

Pathways to Employment

Location: The Wheeler Centre & Online

Time: 3pm AEDT / 2:30pm ACDT / 12pm AWST

In our role as workers, are artists with disabilities finding pathways to employment and meaningful, appropriately paid roles? Hear from industry leaders about the range of initiatives, programs, training pathways and models of employment that embody best practice in our creative industries.

Duration: 45 minutes

Writing Place Launch

Location: The Wheeler Centre & Online

Time: 4:30pm AEDT / 4pm ACDT / 1:30pm AWST

Writing Place editor Liel K Bridgford launches another edition of Writing Place magazine and mentorship program. Hear from program participants how this opportunity has helped them meet their creative goals.

Duration: 60 minutes

The Other Film Festival presents Flaunt

Location: Online @ ACMI

The Other Film Festival presents Flaunt – a loud and proud dive into disability positive cinema.

The Other Film Festival is a ground-breaking disability-led program from Arts Access Victoria. Since 2004, it has become a leader in the global disability screen advocacy movement – centring authentic storytelling and representation.

All Flaunt films are made by Deaf and Disabled people either as key creatives, collaborators, and performers. All films are free, and audio described, captioned or 100% subtitled.

Please note: you will need to register for an account on the ACMI website to watch the films in The Other Film Festival, but all films are free. These films are only available up until midnight on Thursday 6 October.

rounded corner graphic

Register your interest

Register to receive news and updates about Meeting Place

Host

Presenting Partners

Funding Partner